You are here

Executives attend semi-annual External Advisory Board Meeting

Friday, May 3, 2013--Over 90 industry and government executives attended the Ohio State Center for Automotive Research's semi-annual External Advisory Board meeting. During the morning session, College of Engineering Dean David B. Williams welcomed guests. This was followed by President Gee's presentation of the prestigious Dwight A. Blaser Meritorious Service Award. This year's recipient was Dave Tatman of General Motors Company, who was recognized as a champion for his continuous support of university-industry partnership.

L-R: College of Engineering's Dean David B. Williams, Ohio State's President Gordon Gee, award recipient Dave Tatman of General Motors Company and CAR's director Giorgio Rizzoni.Highlights of the meeting included presentatins by student team leaders of motorsports/student projects and research overviews by undergraduate students participating in the Motorsports Capstone Design program. In addition, students presented posters, a hands-on display of a student-designed and -built custom 700lb vehicle lifter, and the OSU EcoCAR 1. Also showcased were an Edison 2 VLC and a Lotus Elise--thanks to attendees Olivers Kuttner and Gregg Peterson, respectively.

Attendees were updated on the overall state of the center as well as research activities and consortia. In the afternoon session an Automotive Industry Research Trends Panel discussed current and future directions of automotive industry research. Expert panelists included Mike Vincent (Chrysler), Gary Parker (Cummins), and Ted Miller (Ford).