You are here

Buckeye Current and Ohio State EcoCAR shine at College of Engineering's Student Organization Recognition and Awards

More than 100 engineering and architecture student organizations at The Ohio State University make a big impact on campus and beyond. On February 24, the College of Engineering recognized six of those student organizations at the first Student Organization Recognition and Awards event. Two teams based out of the Center for Automotive Research were recognized for their achievements.

Buckeye Current team and the Outstanding Partnership with Industry Award.Buckeye Current, Ohio State's electric motorcycle team, was given the Outstanding Partnership with Industry Award. The recognition highlighted the team's recent notable accomplishments, including participating in the Ohio Educational Technology Conference and maintaining successful sponsor relations with 16 companies in 2014.

Ohio State's EcoCAR team was also well represented during the ceremony. In honor of the team's first place win in year three of their national competition, the team received t-shirts marked with the words "undisputed national champions"--such t-shirts have become ubiquitous on the university campus since the football team earned the title of national champions earlier in 2015. (Read more about how the EcoCAR team championed their competition here.)
In addition to this recognition, Ohio State EcoCAR also received the Outstanding K-12 Outreach Award and Outstanding Advisor Award. From classroom presentations to hands on experiments at community fairs to virtual field trips, the team hosts a number of outreach events aimed at the K-12 segment each year. Shawn Midlam-Mohler, EcoCAR’s faculty advisor and assistant clinical professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering was honored to receive the Oustanding Advisor Award. His support, care and vast knowledge was a driving force behind the team’s first place finish in the three-year EcoCAR2: Plugging In to the Future competition.

Read more about this first annual awards ceremony on the College of Engineering's website.