You are here

Auto industry executives attend semi-annual External Advisory Board Meeting

On Friday, March 31, 2017, numerous industry and government executives and campus partners attended The Ohio State Center for Automotive Research's (CAR) semiannual External Advisory Board meeting.

The meeting opened with a presentation on the past, present and future of CAR by Giorgio Rizzoni, director, Center for Automotive Research. Rizzoni shared CAR’s vision in 2012, reported on the Centers current state and the plan for the next 5 years.   

In addition, attendees listed to TEDTalk style presentations by nine CAR faculty highlighting their work and how it pertains to the future of mobility. Presentations ranged from cybersecurity to consumer behavior to fuel economy.Scholarship recipients Andrew Fu (left) and Moses Chan

Students also had the opportunity to share their work with this year’s attendees when they presented on their research. David Mongeau. senior program director in Translational Data Analytics and Andre Carrel, CAR faculty and assistant professor of Smart Urban Systems, Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering, explained how translational data analytics and CAR work together.

The breadth of information shared during the meeting resulted in great questions, discussion and opportunities for collaboration.  

Dwight Blaser Meritorious Service Award recipients, John Kirwan and Peter Olin with Giorgio Rizzoni

A highlight of the meeting was the presentation of the prestigious Dwight A. Blaser Meritorious Service Award, a citation presented annually to recognize individuals whose sustained and extraordinary personal services have had a significant and lasting effect on the advancement of CAR. The 2017 recipients are Peter Olin, chief engineer for Delphi Advanced Engineering Americas and John Kirwan, chief engineer for Delphi Powertrain Advanced R&D.

Scholarship recipients were also recognized during the meeting. Congratulations to the following students:

  • Johnson Controls scholarship recipients: Kerri Loyd and Mason Hayes
  • Nexceris scholarship recipients: Jordan Johnson and Moses Chan
  • Delphi scholarship recipients: Daichi Mae and Andrew Fu
  • Ford Blue Oval Vehicle Team Challenge recipients: Baja Buckeyes and Buckeye Current

At the conclusion of the presentations and discussions, guided tours of the Center's facilities and laboratories rounded out the day's activities.

The next External Advisory Board Meeting will take place Friday, October 6, 2017 at TRC.