Jeff Hemphill Recognized with Dwight Blaser Meritorious Service Award

Posted: April 18, 2022
Jeff Hemphill receives Blaser award from Giorgio Rizzoni
Hemphill (right) accepts Blaser Award from Giorgio Rizzoni

The recipient of the 2022 Dwight Blaser Meritorious Service Award is Jeff Hemphill, chief technical officer for Schaeffler in the Americas. This award is presented annually to individuals or organizations whose sustained and extraordinary services have had a significant and lasting effect on the advancement of Ohio State’s Center for Automotive Research (CAR).

In his role at Schaeffler, Hemphill played an integral role in CAR being home to the first Schaeffler Hub for Advanced Research (SHARE) Program in North America. The SHARE program uses the “company on campus” concept that includes dedicated offices for full-time Schaeffler employees at the university to foster a close collaboration between Schaeffler employees, university researchers, PhD candidates and students.

“This program is an ideal way for Schaeffler to inspire and foster the next generation of automotive and mobility engineers,” said Hemphill. "I've been involved with CAR in one way or another for two decades and it was always clear to me that there was some magic happening there. Now that we've grown our presence and relationship, I see that even more. It's a huge honor to be recognized by such a talented and successful group."

Additionally, Hemphill has been a passionate and committed member of CAR’s external advisory board and executive committee for more than 10 years.

“His experience as technology leader for one of the largest suppliers in the automotive industry as well as his professional service to SAE, for which he served as president last year, gives him an important and unique viewpoint in helping to advise and support OSU CAR,” said CAR Director, Giorgio Rizzoni. “As Jeff helps lead Schaeffler into the next generation of electrified and intelligent products, it is a privilege to have the opportunity to work with him to translate university research into commercial solutions.”



Category: Awards